top of page

Holocaust Museum Houston to Honor

Dr. Milton Boniuk at Guardian of the Human Spirit Award Virtual Event

2020 guardian.PNG

Holocaust Museum Houston (HMH) will be honoring Dr. Milton Boniuk at its 2020 Guardian of the Human Spirit Award virtual event, which will be streamed online Monday, November 9, 2020 from noon to 1 p.m. Established in 1997, the award is a platform for acknowledging dedicated individuals who, and institutions which, have worked to enhance the lives of others and to better humankind.

Dr. Boniuk is being honored with the Guardian of the Human Spirit Award for his commitment to service and building an open-minded society. The revered ophthalmologist is a humanitarian, philanthropist, and author who believes our differences should be celebrated, not feared. His gifts to the Houston community include the creation of Holocaust Museum Houston’s Boniuk Library and Boniuk Center for the Future of Holocaust, Human Rights, and Genocide Studies and Rice University’s The Boniuk Institute for the Study and Advancement of Religious Tolerance. As one who promotes tolerance, compassion, and respect and devotes himself to multi-culturalism and diversity, Dr. Boniuk embodies what it means to be a Guardian of the Human Spirit.

  • Holocaust Survivor and New York Timesbestselling author

    Dr. Edith Eger is featured speaker at the upcoming 2020 Guardian of the Human Spirit Award Virtual Event honoring Dr. Milton Boniuk. Photo credit: Jordan Engle

This year’s guest speaker will be Dr. Edith Eger, psychologist, holocaust survivor, and New York Times bestselling author of The Choice: Embrace the Possible and the upcoming The Gift: Twelve Lessons to Save Your Life. Much of her professional time has been spent working with members of the military, helping them heal from PTSD and live productive lives. She has dedicated herself to finding ways to use her personal experience to inspire and educate others.

President and CEO of Houston Methodist, Marc L. Boom, M.D., and President of Rice University, David W. Leebron, are this year’s honorary chairs. Luncheon chairs include prominent Houstonians Debra and Steven Cohen, Leisa Holland-Nelson and Bob Bowman, Elyse and Lewis Kalmans, and Drs. Ann Ulmer and Timothy Stout. The host committee is chaired by Abby Daniels and Debbie Tummins and Paper City magazine is the media sponsor.             


Previous recipients of the award have included the Houston Astros Foundation; Texas A&M Corps of Cadets and Aggie Liberators of World War II; UT President Gregory L. Fenves and The University of Texas at Austin; Ric Campo; Velva G. and H. Fred Levine; Edith and Josef Mincberg; Bill Morgan and Murry Bowden; the Harry Mach family; KIPP Founders, Dave Levin and Mike Feinberg; former Mayor Annise Parker; Barbara and Gerald Hines; Marc J. Shapiro; Lester and Sue Smith; Sandra Weiner and Martin Fein; Naomi Warren and Fred Zeidman; Joan and Stanford Alexander; Ed Wulfe and the H-E-B grocery chain; Jack Blanton and the Houston Chronicle; the Rev. William A. Lawson and Julie and Ben Rogers; Linda P. Lay and Siegi Izakson; and Ron Stone.

For tickets and more information, please visit,

contact or call 713-527-1622.   

bottom of page